World of Warcraft – 10 Years 10 Questions

As a lot of WoW bloggers are doing currently, I decided to answer the 10 Years 10 Questions asked by ALT:ernative (Link to the original ).

1. Why did you start playing Warcraft?

I started playing because some friends at D&D were playing and the game looked like a lot of fun. I played a lot of computer games but hadn’t tried any MMOs before.


2. What was the first ever character you rolled?

A female Tauren warrior tank. Though I played a lot of other toons as well (Priest, rogue, druid, etc).


3. Which factors determined your faction choice in game?

My friends were playing Horde so I joined their guild.


4. What has been your most memorable moment in Warcraft and why?

There are so many moments that I could talk about but probably the one moment I mention often is more of a really funny moment I tell to non-WoW friends as well.

I was playing my warrior in vanilla wow and getting some help from a lvl60 guildie. We were coming back from questing in the Charred Vale in Stonetalon and climbing up the steep narrow path to Sun Rock Retreat. Suddenly my guildie’s toon bounced around the path in front of me and went jumping off the cliff to fall a long way to the bottom. Her toon nearly died and I was curious as to what had happened. I asked her and there was a pause before she replied. “My cat just jumped onto my keyboard!”


5. What is your favourite aspect of the game and has this always been the case?

I love playing RPG games and for me I don’t have one aspect of the game that I like over others. For me it is several things. Friends I have made in the game, the questing, the astonishing zones and their scenery.


6. Do you have an area in game that you always return to?

Not really. I tend to hang out where each expansion hub is. Though I have played the Worgen starting area a few times.


7. How long have you /played and has that been continuous?

About 70 days on my shadow priest, but I play a lot of alts so not sure this really represents how much time I play wow. I started playing wow in vanilla but stopped playing after getting my warrior to 60. I restarted towards the end of Burning Crusade and have played continuously since then.


8. Admit it: do you read quest text or not?

Not as a rule. I tend to gloss over it and just figure out the objectives. Though I created a new night elf druid recently and have been reading the quest text and enjoying it.


9. Are there any regrets from your time in game?

Not really. I had a bad time with my alliance guild at the start of Cataclysm expansion and switched factions and realm at the time. I don’t regret moving guilds but felt sad that things had to end the way they did.


10. What effect has Warcraft had on your life outside gaming?

I play way too many games and spend a lot of time gaming when I should probably do other things. I am a computer programmer and tend to spend most of my time at a computer. I enjoy the game and will keep playing it. I have made a lot of friends in the game and had one come from Australia and visit me here in NZ. That was fun. Also I tend to take a week off work when new expansions are released. And yes I have booked a week off for November WoD release. :)

2 comments

Leave a Reply

